Jellaby by Kean Soo

August 28, 2008

I’m not a huge graphic novel fan, but I make an attempt to read the ones I hear buzz about.  Last night I read Jellaby by Kean Soo.  It’s a sweet story of a girl, a boy, and a big purple monster.  It’s also about school and friendship and parental issues.  The 144 pages passed by quickly and I immediately wanted to hunt out volume 2…which won’t be published until 4/2009.  The illustrations are mostly shades of purple and are drawn in (what I’ll call) comics style (as opposed to manga.)  The recommended age level from the publisher is 10 and up, which seems about right to me.  I think this would be a good GN to recommend to the kid who isn’t a big manga fan, but likes a good story and can wait until next year for the next installation!

Hmmm…Kean Soo’s blog says there are Jellaby short stories in Flight Explorer and Flight Volume 5, both of which we own.  So I’ll be checking those out next!

Leave a Reply

