William C. Morris Award

December 12, 2008

YALSA, (ALA’s Young Adult Library Services Association,) will be giving out a new award this year, the William C. Morris Award for a YA book written by a first-time, previously unpublished author.  In a departure from other ALA children’s and young adult awards, the Morris Award will have a short-list of books in the running.  This year that short list is:

  • A Curse Dark as Gold by Elizabeth C. Bunce, published by Arthur A. Levine/Scholastic;
  • Graceling by Kristin Cashore, published by Harcourt/Houghton Mifflin Harcourt;
  • Absolute Brightness by James Lecesne, published by HarperTeen/Laura Geringer Books;
  • Madapple by Christina Meldrum, published by Knopf, an imprint of Random House Children’s Books; and
  • Me, the Missing, and the Dead by Jenny Valentine, published by HarperTeen

I’m half way through Madapple for FVRL’s Mock Printz and I’ve heard some really good things about Graceling, but I haven’t heard of or read any of the others.  Has anyone read any of these?  Any favorites?


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: