FVRL’s Mock Newbery 2010?

February 5, 2009

I had such a great time at FVRL’s Mock Printz a couple of weeks ago, I’ve been inspired to look into the possibility of holding a Mock Newbery next January. I’m in the initial exploratory stages, but I’ve already started my reading, just in case. I read 11 Birthdays by Wendy Mass and am just finishing Peace, Locomotion by Jacqueline Woodson. 11 Birthdays was good, but not great. It reminded me so much of Groundhog’s Day (the movie,) and I kept waiting for her to make some reference to the film, but she didn’t. Peace, Locomotion is great so far, and you know how Newbery loves to honor JW. The thing to think about with Peace, Locomotion, is that it is a sequel, so does it stand on its own or do you need to have read Locomotion? If it doesn’t stand on its own, it wouldn’t be considered for the Newbery. So far, I think it stands on its own. What are you reading? Anything Newbery worthy?

3 Responses to “FVRL’s Mock Newbery 2010?”

  1. Fuse #8 Says:

    Try “The Mostly True Adventure of Homer P. Figg” by Rodman Philbrick and “The Problems with the Puddles” by Kate Feiffer. Those two impressed me more than I expected them to.


  2. I liked “The Year the Swallows Came Early” by Kathryn Fitzmaurice as a Newbery contender. It is not heavy, but it has some real depth, and it’s beautifully written.


Leave a Reply

