The Composer is Dead

March 3, 2009

composerDon’t waste your time reading this book….because the CD that comes with it of Lemony Snicket reading it accompanied by the San Francisco Symphony is BRILLIANT!!  When I looked at this picture book in the warehouse the other day, it didn’t grab me like I was hoping a new Lemony Snicket book would.  But when it came across my desk today and I noticed that there was an audio version narrated by Mr Snicket himself, well I had to take a listen.

The composer is dead and the Lemony Snicket-esque Inspector interviews the instruments of the orchestra to get to the bottom of the murder.  It’s  a who’s who of the instruments of the orchestra with musical accompaniment.  This is a great intro to these instruments and the parts  they play in the the orchestra.  The murder mystery is quite cleverly solved at the end.

Illustrations by Carson Ellis and music composed by Nathaniel Stookey

Leave a comment