OLA/WLA Mock Newbery

September 18, 2009

Any day now registration will be open for the OLA/WLA Mock Newbery.  We’re in the final stages of creating the reading list.  We’re trying to select outstanding books of different genres and for different age groups so that we will have some great books to discuss and compare.  I’m excited that we’ll have past and current Newbery committee members talking about their experiences.  It should be a great day!  (Saturday, January 9th.)

I finally got around to reading When You Reach Me, one of the most (Newbery) buzzed-about books of the year.  I tried to listen to it on audio, but that wasn’t the best format for the book.  Once I started reading it, it went fast and was a very enjoyable read.  I certainly wouldn’t be disappointed if it won the Newbery, but it seems to me that the most buzzed about books don’t usually take home the medal.  Maybe it will be an honor book?  Right now I’m reading Grace Lin’s Where the Mountain Meets the Moon.  It’s a beautiful book, both the writing and illustrations, and I’m really enjoying it.  I’m not sure it will be a kid-favorite, but I can see librarians and teachers loving it.  On the younger side, I read How Oliver Olson Changed the World and have Alvin Ho: Allergic to Camping, Hiking, and Other Natural Disasters in my to-be-read-soon pile.

Interested in more Mock Newbery discussions?  Check out the following:

School Library Journal’s Heavy Medal Blog (they’re currently debating When You Reach Me)

Allen County Public Library’s Mock Newbery Blog (they have Mock Blogs for the Sibert, Caldecott, Printz, CSK, and Geisel awards.)

Eva Perry Mock Newbery Book Club Blog (I like this one because actual kids comments on the books!)

Fuse #8’s Halfway Mark Predictions

And while you’re at it, check out the official criteria for the award and Anita Silvey’s controversial SLJ article, Has the Newbery Lost Its Way?

What have you read this year that you thought was Newbery-worthy?

Leave a Reply

