Storytime Books

February 11, 2010

When I did a toddler storytime I was always on the look-out for a new book that would work well this age group.  Something simple, not too long, good illustrations, and if it included movement, all the better!  Well one just came through the Annex that has toddler storytime written all over it!  It’s called Boom Bah and it’s by Phil Cummings.  It has simple, repetitive text, animals, and lot’s of opportunity to march around making noise!  Check it out and let me know if you get a chance to use it during storytime!

I was at my local library recently talking to a library assistant who had just been asked to sub for a “yoga storytime” and she had no idea what to do.  I wish I’d had this next book with me, or at least knew the title, because it would have been perfect!  The ABCs of Yoga for Kids by Teresa Anne Power would be a great book to use to add a few stretchy and fun yoga poses into your preschool or family storytime.  It has great illustrations and a short descriptive poem for each pose.  Again, I’d love to hear from you if you give this a try in your storytime.

Leave a Reply

